A Word From Your Editor (#2)

Dear Reader,

As I sit here writing this I am reminded of a quote I once heard,“What saves a man is to take a step.Then another step.” You see, starting Soma was a risky first step, because we did not know how you would respond, but the fact that this second volume is in your hands is evidence of your support and excitement.This then, my friends, is our second step. As I wrote to you before, I initially set out to get our student body rallied around a corporate pursuit of unifying our minds and hearts. Granted, this is a long and arduous process, but this is a start. Furthermore, it is encouraging for me to have seen the response of the student body after our first publication.Talking to the students around campus about their thoughts regarding Soma or their ideas for potential future articles has helped me refine the trajectory the journal. I want to focus on establishing this publication as a place for you to present your thoughts and opinions, and you will see this reflected in the variety of topics chosen for this volume.

Now, regarding the articles, I am very excited for you to read what follows this brief address. I want you to notice that we have some new contributors for this volume. Carson Bay has written a wonderfully warm and thought-provoking article on natural theology.Take note of Carson’s superb interaction with both the intellect and the affections. Quinn Daniels offers a great look at how Christians should understand pleasure that seems divorced from obvious spiritual contexts. It is complex, and yet it is filled with conviction.You will see a piece by Taylor Song on Plato’s concept of “the Good” that I believe conveys a brilliant point for every Christian to consider. Do not miss Tim Wellings’ article on Christian maturity where he casts an analytical light on the success of our education institution.  Also, Samuel J. Keithley returns to conclude his piece on religious language in contemporary Christianity. Finally, former contributor [Anonymous] writes an article that is scathing and practical for students, teachers, and parents. Now, I would like to preempt your reading with a request. I encourage each one of you to take time to meditate on the ideas being presented here, and to try to identify the implicit parallels between our contributor’s ideas. If you spend time doing this you will notice a more complete picture of the ideas being presented here.

Finally, I would like to address two more things. First, many of you have shown interest in writing for Soma and I am very happy to hear that. I would like to extend to you another encouragement to make time to think and write.This will not only be fruitful for you, as the quote on the back of Soma states, but also for the entire student body.You have something to offer and I want it. Second, because anyone can contribute to this journal, I would encourage you to approach a teacher and ask him or her to write on a topic you are interested in. Often we do not have the chance to hear our teacher’s opinions on matters outside of the scheduled curriculum, but here is your chance. Go ahead and ask him or her to write, and trust me, they have time. I conclude with saying once again that it is a privilege and a pleasure to offer you the second volume of “Soma-pursuing unity of intellect and affections.”

To High Places by Narrow Roads,

Collin Duff


To Download:
WordFromEditor

Leave a Reply

