Resurrected Hope by Rebecca F. Kauffman

A doubt prevails above the truth.

A song, so sad, above the noise,

Of peace, of grace, of hope, of joy.

Instead, I sink. Oblivion.

 

The cross afar, a distant cry,

A myth for which to live, or burn?

Theology can’t touch my heart.

Philosophy can’t heal my mind.

The ache within grows stronger yet,

As friends are fake, as life is hell.

Ironic rings their platitudes,

Autonomy is peaceful death.

Now truth once known is idolized,

Spurious faith is torn to shreds.

As fear alights the atmosphere,

A plea is made apart from hope.

Throughout my mind, throughout my heart,

The cynicism radiates.

So strangely builds a particle;

The source of which is heavenly.

A myth so strong, it permeates,

Till lies are truth and death is grace.

My flesh is beat, my heart on fire,

My mind now joins, for life inquires.

A phoenix hope, appears in sight

Confused and scared to reach or try.

The most I knew, incinerate

Instead, rebuild my faith in You.

“Come, let us return to the Lord; for he has torn us, that he may heal us; he has struck us down, and he will bind us up.” Hosea 6:1, ESV

“I will heal their apostasy.” Hosea 14:4a

“For from him, and to him, and through him, are all things.  To him be the glory forever. Amen.” Romans 11:36, ESV

Leave a Reply

